Standing Committee
The Standing Committee is canonically responsible for the search process.  The Nominating Committee reports to the Standing Committee, as does the Transition Committee.  At the time of Bishop Brookhart’s retirement (November 1, 2018), the Standing Committee retains the Ecclesiastical Authority of the Diocese.  The Standing Committee intends to call a Bishop to assist the Diocese during the interim between Bishop Brookhart’s retirement and the consecration of our 10th Bishop Diocesan.


Cynthia Benkelman, All Saints, Columbia Falls/Whitefish
The Rev. Jean Collins, St. James, Lewistown
The Rev. Donna Gleaves, St. Peter’s, Helena (President)
Rick Harden, St. Peter’s, Helena
Mary Messina, St. James, Lewistown
The Rev. Bradley Wirth, Columbia Falls/Whitefish


Nominating Committee
The Nominating Committee, appointed by the Standing Committee, guides the diocese through the search process. In its charge, the Standing Committee directs the Nominating Committee to 1) work within a timeline and budget, 2) conduct parish listening sessions, 3) communicate regularly, 4) construct a diocesan profile that captures our expectations, hopes, and challenges, 5) screens and vets candidates, and 6) present a diverse slate of 4-6 candidates for consideration by the Standing Committee. Contact the Nominating Committee at [email protected]

Laura Catlin, St. James, Bozeman
Mary Cavalier, St. Andrew’s, Livingston
The Rev. Stephen Day, Emmanuel, Miles City
The Rev. Steve DeHart, St. James, Dillon
The Rev. Dorcie Dvarishkis, Holy Spirit, Missoula
The Rev. Theresa Kelley, Pintler Cluster, Butte, (Vice Chair)
Keith Kuhn, Holy Spirit, Missoula (Chair)
Nancy McManus, St. Luke’s, Billings
Hope Stockwell, St. Peter’s, Helena
Gretchen Swift, Incarnation, Great Falls
The Rev. Steven Yurosko, St. Andrew’s, Polson


Transition Committee
The Transition Committee, appointed by the Standing Committee, handles the various components of the transition associated with the search. This ranges from planning the celebration of Bishop Brookhart’s ministry in the fall of 2018 to welcoming the new Bishop in 2019.  For more information on the subcommittees, please click here.

Doris Gerstner, St. Stephen’s, Billings (Walkabout Committee & Ordination Committee)
The Rev. Rick Johnson, St. Peter’s, Helena (Bishop-elect Support Committee & Ordination Committee)
Vicki Van Rensselaer, St. James’, Bozeman (Election Convention Committee)
Darien Scott, St. Peter’s Helena (Bishop-elect Support Committee & Ordination Committee)
Gary Swartz, Holy Spirit, Missoula (Walkabout Committee)
Holly Swartz, Holy Spirit, Missoula (Walkabout Committee & Ordination Committee)
Pat Sylvia, Christ Church, Kalispell (Walkabout Committee)
Jim Vorachek, Calvary, Red Lodge (Communications Committee)
Tom Wojtowick, St. James’, Lewistown (Communications Committee)
Rich Winget, St. James’, Bozeman (Election Convention Committee)